International Women’s Day

It’s International Women’s Day!

When I saw that today was officially designated International Women’s Day, I thought, that’s pretty cool. My next thought was, what does it mean? I consulted Google, which has a snazzy IWD logo displayed to commemorate the occasion. The history buff in me naturally wanted to know about the origins of this celebration. I discovered that International Women’s Day is over one hundred years old! In 1908, 15,000 women marched in NYC, demanding better wages, shorter workdays, and OMG—the right to vote. The first official observance was in 1911, amid the ongoing fight for women’s suffrage. Wow. This is information I could really use.

International Women’s Day is about action. This year’s theme is “Inspiring Change.” Women in the early 20th century took great risks in stepping out to demand equality, but they did it because fundamental rights are worth it. Women like Susan B. Anthony blazed a fearless trail for equality that has become our birthright. Because I’m a writer, I loved reading about Katharine Lee Bates, the educator, poet, and songwriter who wrote “America the Beautiful.” Bates was also a lesbian, who penned, “Yellow Clover: A Remembrance of Love”, a tribute to her partner of 25 years, Katherine Coman, Dean of Wellesley College, upon her death in 1922. I can only imagine how difficult it was for two women to live openly as lesbians at the dawn of the 20th Century, and yet, they lived authentically and left an indelible mark on the world.

That’s the challenge for all of us: To do our part to make this world a little better for those who come behind us. Women have made great strides, but there is still so much more to do. It is said: I can’t do everything, but I can do one small thing. So, I recommit on this International Women’s Day to use my humble gift for writing to continue to portray strong, lesbian characters in my stories. I will never shy away from tackling a tough subject for the sake of comfort, whether in my blog or in a future novel. And on this International Women’s Day, I celebrate all women in the world. You are fabulous.

Be proud. Be bold. Do something for the cause.

Thanks for reading~

LM

Leave a Reply

