Honoring service and friendship

Memorial Day. The official beginning of summer, a long weekend, a time for picnics and barbeques and spending time with family. But, every reward has its price. Our comfortable way of life is paid for by the service and sacrifice of those who serve our country unselfishly, and the blood shed by those who have fallen.

This Memorial Day weekend I am taking time to reflect on those who came before me, those with whom I’ve served, and those serving today. Like many, I have personal connections to military service. My stepfather served in the Viet Nam era, and my sister and I chose Army service as young adults. Our family proudly supports my young nephew, who needed his parent’s blessing to enlist in the marines shy of his 18th birthday. He is currently serving in Afghanistan.

My service inspired me to write more than a few poems and stories; one of them became a full-length novel, dedicated to LGBT service members. By far, the greatest reward of my writing has been the connections I’ve made with readers and other authors, especially so many fellow veterans worldwide. Some I’ve had the honor to meet in person, and many others are my online buddies. In every case, that “something” which bonds those who serve has shown itself, drawing kindred spirits to one another naturally.

One of those early online connections developed into a real life friendship. My friend, Sue, has served many years in the British Army, and recently was commissioned as a Lieutenant. She is enroute to her second tour of duty in Afghanistan as we speak. Most recently, I made the acquaintance of a US Army sergeant, who honored me with a note about my military story. Similarly, AJ, is now serving her second Mideast tour. I am grateful and infinitely humbled by their friendship.

On this Memorial Day, I pause to remember every patriot who has selflessly given his or her life in service of our country. I pray for the safety of those serving now. I hope that my words will in some way convey the level of respect I feel for every one of you who wear a uniform in service of our nation. You are our inspiration and hope. I salute you.

~LM

5 thoughts on “Honoring service and friendship

  1. Thanks for your kind words and friendship Lisa. The support that you and other US friends give to this lowly Trip Commander is much appreciated! Sue

  2. Thank you for your service..Also to all the others (my wife especially) my nephew and niece who are both currently serving thank you for your service and sacrifice.

Leave a Reply

