Sisters are doing it for themselves…

Got the soundtrack for this offering in your head? Annie Lennox, oh yeah.

I saw this in the news the other day. Jane Lynch and a group of totally awesome, high-powered lesbians are forming a super PAC! Besides Ms. Lynch, Billie Jean King and Chicago Cubs owner Laura Rickets are the driving forces behind this project. LPAC, as its called, says their purpose is to increase the political power of the lesbian community. How are they going to do that? The PACs criteria for candidates is simple:  Women or men, gay or straight, that support equal rights for LGBT women and their families, and the candidate must also back sexual and reproductive rights for women. LPAC will provide financial backing to pro-lesbian candidates, regardless of political affiliation, gender, or sexual orientation. I don’t know of many pro-lesbian candidates on the right, at least who will admit it, but hey… if this group can finally identify fair-minded, fiscally conservative candidates who will have the courage to say they support lesbian and women’s health issues, then I say, way to go.

And folks, I’m not a one-issue voter, but here’s the thing, I can’t bring myself to vote against my own self-interest, whether as a woman, a lesbian, a blue-collar worker, or veteran. I’m all of those things. Every one of us has a multitude of pieces that make up the totality of who we are. But. Pro-lesbian candidates will automatically be pro-women candidates. That is critical in this age of gender backlash. Women need to step up their game to push back against the ever-increasing infringements upon our rights and livelihoods. In a time where states are stripping away laws requiring equal pay, reproductive rights, and the coverage of our basic healthcare needs (like covered mammograms and gynecological exams), we need to start taking care of ourselves. From what I can see, that’s only going to happen when we put folks in office who have lesbians interests at heart.

That’s what makes other PACs successful. They drill the message down to a critical point. LPAC supports pro-lesbian and pro-women candidates. It’s that simple. Do it for your economic livelihood, your health, and heck, your life. Yes, it’s that important.

Rock on ladies. LPAC—what an awesome idea. Here’s the link: http://www.teamlpac.com

Thanks for reading.

~LM

P.S.  The amazing Nicola Griffith blogged about this topic as well. You can check out her thoughts here: http://asknicola.blogspot.com/2012/07/lesbian-super-pac.html

4 thoughts on “Sisters are doing it for themselves…

  1. Amen Sister! I always said the Gays/lesbians had money and now it is time to put it to good use..I too am a veteran who was layed off because of who I love ..After 38 years of working and earning my way..I was kicked to the curb by a right wing private republician company..I too have alot of self interest in the Elections National and Local. Thank you for those who started the PAC for our causes and interest…No doubt if I was well off I know where my money would be going…Our voices can be heard by getting out and voteing.

    • Mary, first of all, thank you for your service!You make a great point, we need to educate ourselves and place our hard earned dollars wisely. For me, that means lesbian-friendly candidates.
      Take care,
      LM

Leave a Reply

